Skip to content Skip to footer
»We invite you: To four days full of theatre. To encounters between men and machine. To journeys across synthetic worlds and to new friendships.«  

From 13 - 16 March 2024 DIGITHALIA - the Festival for Virtual Theatre Forms Graz at Schauspielhaus Graz is dedicated to works that use the digital space to explore new narratives. Narratives that question and enrich the performing arts.

Since its inception, theatre has always been a place where technical progress was applied and negotiated. Stage machinery and artificial lighting were followed by audio playback and video projections - devices we have long since become accustomed to. It is hard to imagine theatre performances without them, as they are used to design spaces and tell stories in a variety of ways. Now A.I., live streams, computer animations and robots are taking the stage. Just what are they doing?

With DIGITHALIA, for four days Schauspielhaus Graz will become a platform for new, virtual forms of theatre. Offering insights into the possibilities and impossibilities of new technology for the theatre, it showcases what digitality seeks, attempts and achieves on stage.

The first edition of this Festival features regional and international guest performances alongside the Schauspielhaus's own productions. The theatre encounters surreal apps, dancing robots and self-critical artificial intelligences. It offers a stage for stories about the isolation of digital natives and the exploration of future worlds.
A theatre festival for technological sceptics, geeks, nerds and everyone in between these worlds.

en_GBEN

Skip to content Skip to footer
»Wir laden ein: Zu vier Tagen voller Theater. Zu  Begegnungen zwischen Menschen und Maschinen.  Zu  Reisen durch synthetische  Welten und zu neuen Freundschaften.«  

Vom 13. – 16. März 2024 widmet sich DIGITHALIA – das Festival für virtuelle Theaterformen Graz am Schauspielhaus Graz Theaterformen, die mit Mitteln des digitalen Raumes nach neuen Erzählweisen suchen. Erzählungen, die das Theater befragen und ebenso bereichern.            

Schon immer war die Bühne ein Ort, an dem technischer Fortschritt eingesetzt und ausgehandelt wurde. Auf Bühnenmaschinen und künstliches Licht folgten Toneinspielungen und Videoprojektionen – Apparaturen, an die wir uns längst gewöhnt haben, die schwer wieder wegzudenken sind und mit denen Theaterräume auf mannigfaltige Art gestaltet und Geschichten erzählt werden. Und jetzt betreten KIs, Livestreams, Computeranimationen und Roboter die Bühne. Was machen die da?

Mit DIGITHALIA wird das Schauspielhaus Graz für vier Tage zur Plattform für diese neuen, virtuellen Spielformen im Theater. Es bietet Einblicke in die Möglichkeiten und Unmöglichkeiten neuer Technologien für das Theater und macht erlebbar, was Digitalität auf der Bühne sucht, versucht und kann.

Die erste Ausgabe des Festivals versammelt dafür regionale wie internationale Gastspiele mit Eigenproduktionen des Schauspielhauses. Das Theater begegnet surrealen Apps, tanzenden Robotern, selbstkritischen Künstlichen Intelligenzen. Es wird zur Bühne für Geschichten über die Vereinsamung der Digital Natives und das Erkunden zukünftiger Welten. 
Ein Theaterfestival für Technik-Skeptiker:innen, Geeks, Nerds und alle zwischen diesen Welten.

de_DEDE